Scottish Masters LX Hockey Club 2020

2020 World Cup Tokyo, Japan 5-15 November

2020 Tokyo Masters Hockey World Cup

The Masters World Cup competition for 60+ will take place in Tokyo from 5 to 15 November 2020. Matches will be played at two different venues: at the Oi Olympic Hockey Field, where there will be three water based Poligrass pitches, and at the Komazawa Olympic Park General Sports ground, where the 1964 Olympics were held, and where there is now one sand dressed pitch (renewed in 2017). Scotland will be represented by at least one side. Newsletter 1 (PDF)

Other International Events

In the UK, internationals are in March (Over 70 only v England, Durham), May (Four Nations, London) and August (Celtic Cup, Glasgow).

Scottish Thistles Events

Scottish Thistles have fixtures in January (Carlisle), March (Lille), April (Tilburg) May (Four Nations, London), June (Cockermouth), July (Bra and Swansea), August (hosting the Four Nations Spirit of Masters tournament in Dundee), September (Durham), October (Bedford, TBC) and November (World Cup Spirit of Masters, Tokyo)..

Whole Club Events

Two whole club events for all players and guests in mixed age groups are planned for September in Edinburgh and December in Glasgow.

2020 Calendar

Thistles in Carlisle

Scottish Thistles played a double header in Carlisle against North of England LX on Sunday 19 January, the Over 60 side going down 2-0 while the older side came out 2-1 winners with two goals from Steve Laux. reports

Scottish Thistles Team Co-ordinators

With an increasing number of Over 70 and the possibility of Over 75 fixtures, Duncan Mitchell and Sandy Weir have taken on the roles of Over 70 and Over 75 team co-ordinators for Scottish Thistles matches. Stuart Stephen and Graham Conkie are the Over 60 and Over 65 Thistles co-ordinators.

Over 70 International Team Co-ordinator

Peter Gordon has stepped up to take over the role of Over 70 Team Co-ordinator from Roy Crichton.

2020 AGM

Following the 2020 AGM held on 8 March, the new committee is as follows:

Bernie Morrison President
Mike McInally Club Captain
John Hay Secretary
Jim Chisholm Treasurer
John Lees and Stuart Stephen Ordinary Committee Members

The subscription was kept unchanged at £20 (players who are not members of another Scottish hockey club must pay a Scottish Hockey registration fee of £40 in addition).